NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer congratulates winners of ATSE Clunies Ross Awards

9 Jun 2015

NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer, Professor Mary O'Kane, has congratulated this year's winners of the ATSE Clunies Ross Awards.

Three leading NSW scientists were honoured at a gala awards dinner held in Brisbane on 28 May 2015.

Adjunct Professor Jim Patrick AO FTSE from Cochlear received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his extensive accomplishments in biomedical engineering, notably for his major science and engineering contributions to the world's first multichannel cochlear implant. He was also recently awarded the Order of Australia for distinguished service to science.

Dr Cathy Foley PSM FTSE and Mr Keith Leslie from CSIRO will receive a joint award for their work in advanced superconducting technologies, developing a highly sensitive magnetic device, LANDTEM.

Dr Foley is an eminent researcher in the field of materials science who actively encourages early career researchers, and won the NSW Premier's Award for Woman of the Year in 2013. Mr Leslie is an electrical engineer who has made particular contributions as CSIRO team leader for High Temperature Superconducting devices, helping to develop a sensor to detect undetonated explosives on the sea floor and the LANDTEM device for minerals exploration.

Professor O'Kane congratulated these winners and the other winners of the Clunies Ross Awards.

"New South Wales is very fortunate to have scientists of the calibre of Jim Patrick, Cathy Foley and Keith Leslie", Professor O'Kane said.

"The quality of the work they do and the example they set is invaluable to the State."