NSW Science & Engineering Awards 2013 to recognise and reward state’s best researchers

8 Aug 2013

The state's best and brightest innovators and researchers are being encouraged to nominate for the 2013 NSW Science and Engineering Awards.

Nominations for the prestigious awards are now open!

NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer, Professor Mary O'Kane, says the awards recognise and reward our leading researchers in science and engineering, whose cutting-edge work has reaped economic, health, environmental or technological benefits for the state.

"The Science & Engineering Awards are now in their sixth year and aim to highlight the great research being undertaken right here in New South Wales," Professor O'Kane said.

"The awards aim to engage and involve the NSW research community and the public in promoting the value of science and engineering, as well as to encourage careers in both fields," she said.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Trade and Investment, Andrew Stoner, said the awards are the state's most prestigious science prizes – recognising achievements in the sciences, mathematics, engineering and teaching.

"NSW is home to some of the world's best scientists and researchers, and their outstanding efforts are making significant economic, health, environmental and technological contributions to Australia and the world," Mr Stoner said.

"Our science and engineering pioneers play an essential role in helping us to secure the future competitiveness and well-being of the state and these awards provide a fantastic opportunity for the community to recognise their work."

Eight category winners will each be awarded $5000.

The award categories are: Excellence in mathematics, earth sciences and physics; Excellence in biological sciences (ecology, environmental, agricultural and organismal); Excellence in biological sciences (cell and molecular, medical, veterinary, and genetics); Excellence in engineering and information and communications technologies; Emerging research; Renewable energy innovation; Innovation in public sector sciences and engineering; and Innovation in science and mathematics education.

The Selection Panel will also recommend a NSW Scientist of the Year who will receive a $55,000-cash prize.

Nominations close on Sunday 15 September 2013.

All winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Sydney later on 1 November 2013.

An image of the call for entries brochure